Córdoba y Ronda

As promised here is the next installment of my Spanish adventures. Whilst I am in Seville at the language school, there are many “Actividades Culturales” organised. These are sometimes free and sometimes extra cost. More extravagant things, mostly visiting nearby cities/towns, tend to happen on the weekends. The weekend before last there was a day trip organised to Córdoba. You may or may not have heard of Córdoba but it is one of the more famous places in this region of Spain. I didn’t knew anything about Córdoba when I signed up to take the trip there, but I’m very glad I went. 
 
Córdoba turned out to be utterly beautiful. There is a Jewish quarter of the town that is like a maze of tiny cobble stoned lanes twisting here and there with these cute little courtyards sprinkled throughout. I thought I had seen the most picturesque part of the town by this stage but then we went into a medieval Alcázar which had quite a large garden within it (Google image Alcázar de Los Reyes Christianos to see what I’m talking about as I still can’t get any of my photos onto the internet). I actually felt like I was in a Disney movie there. I’m not even going to attempt to try and convey what it was like because I could never do it justice. 
 
The thing, however, Córdoba is most famous for is its Mezquita/Catedral. You may wonder how one building could be called a mosque and a cathedral at the same time, but somehow this building achieves it. Originally it was just a mosque, when Spain was occupied by Muslims, however when it was taken by the Catholics they plonked a cathedral smack bang in the centre of the building, but kept the majority of the mosque intact around the new cathedral. If architecture at all fascinates you I am sure you would very much enjoy visiting there to see how two very different architectural styles can co-exist. They way the Islamic style blends into the catholic gothic is very interesting. Once again I suggest you google image this. 
 
The following weekend a group of 10 of us from the language school decided to hire two cars and drive to Ronda, which is about a 2 hour drive from Seville. As I was one of the only manual drivers I got volunteered to be one of the drivers. I think a week later by brain has not yet recovered from having to completely invert everything it has come to know about driving a car. My poor left hand kept slamming into the door trying to find the gear stick. I also later found out that Spain has the most fatal car accidents out of the whole EU. This explains a lot. The drivers here are crazy as are the people who designed the roundabouts if you can even call them that. 
 
Anyway we made it alive to Ronda, and I’m glad we did because it is once again a beautiful town. It is what they call a pueblo blanco, or white town, because basically all the buildings are white. Ronda is also situated in a mountainous kind of area so the views of the town are amazing with all the little white buildings against the Spanish mountainous countryside backdrop. The thing, however, that Ronda is famous for is its bridge. It spans a very deep crevasse and is a lovely loving bridge in its own right. I am not afraid of heights but some were, and I do not blam them because it is indeed a very very long way down. Again I refer you to my trusty friend google image to get a better understanding of what I mean. 
 
There is one more weekend trip planned for my time here in Seville, and that is to Granada. This is actually an overnight trip and I am very much looking forward to it because everyone says that Granada is the most beautiful place in this whole area. 
 
Until my next blog post, husta luego.  
Leave a Reply

